top of page

Student voice and choice

I let my students tell me what to grade...crazy huh?

However, I have began this year to allow my students to have a say in their learning. I started out small, such as allowing my students to select which journal entries they wanted me to grade. They seem to really enjoy the experience of "picking" their best work and allowing me to grade it. Initially, this was extremely hard for me, as I like to be in control. I wondered, "How will I know if they are doing the other assignments that I have given them?", but I quickly learned that not only are they doing them, but they seem to enjoy it as well.

Loosening my grip

I allow my students to do Genius Hour every Tuesday (www.geniushour.org). This was another way of not telling them what I wanted them to know, but rather, allowing them to choose what they want to learn about. My students' eyes lit up when they were told that they would be doing Genius Hour this year. I was so excited to see them coming up with inquiry based questions such as:

1. I wonder how height effects shoe size?

2. I wonder how to write a book, or how to get ideas for a book?

3. I wonder how it feels to be inside the body of an autistic child?

Every Tuesday, I get to see a spark in their eye as they explore what they want to know and learn.

Getting Rid of Bookmarks

Another way I wanted to empower my students was to stop forcing them to keep a log of what they were reading. I was also nervous about this, wondering would they read without having a check and balance in this area; however, what I am finding, is that the students are more excited about reading now than they were when I made them keep a log of their reading.

Growth

I am seeing such growth in my students than in previous years. I see students who are happier and more willing to try new things and take risks, which is what we all want as educators. I find myself excited as well to read what they choose to submit, to watch them read books without stipulations, and learn about the things that they are passionate about. I can't wait to see how far we can go this year because I made the choice to let go, so they can go on.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page