top of page

Why I Teach: A Look Back to Move Forward

In April of this year I was introduced to the #whyiteach hashtag while attending the ASCD Annual Conference here in Atlanta, Georgia. As I prepared to write my answer on a board for a photo opportunity, I was shocked that it was much harder to put into words than I imagined!

Staci Robbins, EduRise Educator, Educator Passion Blog

How do you condense all of the major experiences, interactions, and values that have shaped your life into a simple statement (written with a Sharpie marker, of course!)?

My early childhood was not what most people would describe as typical. After a diagnosis of cancer and rounds of chemotherapy and radiation, I returned to school in first grade a little too skinny, bald, and wearing hearing aides in both ears. Needless to say, I drew stares from students, parents, and teachers. I stuck out like a sore thumb!

Throughout my own educational experience, my illness always seemed to be waiting in the background with a new obstacle to overcome. Even though I was an avid reader and great speller, I often struggled during spelling tests because I misheard the words as the teacher said them. In gym class, I was unable to run a mile because of muscle weakness and low energy. Socially I had difficulty fitting in because I was always just a little different than my peers.

When I think back, it is not the obstacles that I remember, but rather the teachers who helped me to overcome them. I remember my second grade teacher, Ms. Primeau, always making sure to stand near me and speak clearly when dictating our spelling words. I have fond memories of my gym teacher walking the mile with me during recess so that I could feel that sense of accomplishment. I will never forget the teachers who did not tolerate teasing and created a safe environment for us to learn.

I teach because of them, because they each made an impact on my life. I teach because I want each student who walks through my door to breathe a sigh of relief knowing that they have entered a safe space.

I teach because I want all students to experience the feeling of pride.

I teach because I love to learn and students are the best teachers.

I teach because I want students to love reading as much as I do.

I teach.

Why do you teach?

-Staci Robbins

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page