top of page

Reach one, teach one

Imagine going to school everyday and having no one to talk with about the issues that you are facing. Imagine feeling like no one cares or understands what you are going through on a daily basis.

This was my middle school experience; however, I had a teacher, Mr. Anthony Dodge, who cared enough to stop and ask, "What are you going through and how can I help you?". This teacher made all the difference in an inner city middle school where gangs and drugs were a part of the culture. Because of Mr. Dodge's willingness to reach out and get to know me, I realized that I did not have to succumb to my environment, and that although I may have been in the "hood", the "hood" did not have to be in me. S.T.A.R So out of my own life, the idea for Stop, Teach, Affect, Reach was birthed. S.T.A.R. is a schoolwide program that we are using this school year to address the need to provide every student with an adult advocate in our building. We take one day a week and stop to build relationships with our students while reminding them that we are here for them as their advocate. It is very powerful to witness some of the positive developments that I have observed already within the building. We have become more intentional in building relationships with our students and also recognizing that as educators, we need each other as well. Why advocacy is important Advocacy provides many benefits. There is an old cliche that says, "People will not care how much you know until they know how much you care." I have had many students who were failing and until I showed an interest in their lives, they did not begin to be successful. Students also need to know that they are important beyond the curriculum. Yes, learning English and Math is important, but what about how to interact socially, or communicate effectively, or disagree respectfully? These are just some of the skills that we work on during our S.T.A.R. time. We are interested in developing the whole child, and advocacy does just that. Many times counselors cannot meet with every student who has an issue, so advocacy programs should be integrated into a school's culture (Scardamaglia, 1993). Reach one, teach one When Mr. Dodge reached out to me, I became teachable. I went from not caring about my education, to making the honor roll. When we reach our students, we can teach our children. Every child needs an advocate - I am grateful for my advocate, Mr. Dodge, who took an interest when others did not - I often wonder where I would be without his care. Many years later, my students are reaping the benefits of his decision today - the decision to both reach me and teach me. References Scardamaglia, R. (1993). Teachers as Student Advocates. Educational Leadership 50(4): 31. *If you would like additional information about the S.T.A.R advocacy program, or how to incorporate an advocacy program within your school, please feel free to respond and more information can be provided.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page