top of page

If you fail to plan, you can plan to fail

Summer, a time to relax, unwind, and decompress, but I decided to use my summer to make a plan.

My husband always says, "If you fail to plan, you can plan to fail." I like to think that I am a good teacher, not necessarily for what I know about the content, but because of my passion for students. I truly believe that we must be willing to better our pedagogy. I use the following steps to plan for a successful upcoming school year: 1. Let the data be your guide: I always start by looking at the standardized data of my outgoing students. According to NAESP, it is a best practice to use student data to drive decision making (2011). Past behavior is a good indication of future behavior. As I reflect on my own teaching, I look at their areas of strengths and weaknesses and assess my teaching of those objectives. We always must be willing to grow.

2. Use your resources: I gather resources and engage in professional development, often using social media (twitter is such a great tool), to collaborate with others and gather ideas. For example, I wanted to grow in the area of "Genius Hour" (www.geniushour.com), so I read as much as I could and sought advice from other educators, via social media, who had experience with the program. I engage in at least one to two twitter chats per week - free professional development!!

3. Make a plan: Finally, I make a plan. I begin to look at the curriculum to see where certain standards would be better suited based on the results of my students. I also plan for the unexpected situations, such as students who may need additional support. Ask yourself: "What will I do if my plan doesn't work?" Plan for the unexpected, but expect the best. By looking at student data, gathering resources, and making a plan, you can achieve the best year possible for your students! Plan to plan - plan to succeed!!!! Resources: Best Practices for better schools. (2011) NAESP. Retrieved Here Genius Hour. www.geniushour.com

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page